The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

  

Department of Economics

 

 

 

 

   

SEMINAR SERIES

  

In Fall semester, Wednesday seminars will be held in Conference Room 5047 (5th floor, Lee Shau Kee Business Building, HKUST) while Friday seminars will be held in Conference Room 6045 (6th floor, Lee Shau Kee Business Building, HKUST) during 3:30 to 5:00 p.m.

  

Notes to visitors:

Department of Economics is located on the 6th floor of the Lee Shau Kee Business Building in the Lee Shau Kee Campus at the southern end of HKUST. To obtain a Chinese address of HKUST to show the taxi driver, click HERE  or download a location map HERE.  

 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 


 

Fall 2017

   

Date Speaker Paper
1 Sep (Fri)

Prof. Shengxing Zhang

London School of Economics

Intangibles, Inequality and Stagnation
6 Sep (Wed)

Prof. Wen Quan

University of Washington

A Noncooperative Foundation of the Nash Rationing Solution
15 Sep (Fri)

Prof. Denis Tkachenko

National University of Singapore

Using Arbitrary Precision Arithmetic to Sharpen Identification Analysis for DSGE Models

18 Sep (Mon)
LSK6045      3:30-5:00pm

Prof. David Dorn

University of Zurich

The Fall of the Labor Share and the Rise of Superstar Firms
20 Sep (Wed)

Prof. Rachel Heath

University of Washington

Migrants, Information, and Working Conditions in Bangladeshi Garment Factories

27 Sep (Wed) 
Joint with IEMS *IAS4042*

Prof. Imran Rasul

University College London

Delivery Agents, Social Ties and Group Identity:

Theory and Evidence from a Two-Layered Field Experiment

 

29 Sep (Fri)

Prof. Xiaogang Che

Durham University

Deposits Requirements in Auctions
4 Oct (Wed)

Prof. Xi Weng

Peking University

A Theory of Organizational Dynamics: Internal Politics and Efficiency

6 Oct (Fri)

Prof. Andreas Moxnes

University of Oslo

The Origins of Firm Heterogeneity: A Production Network Approach

13 Oct (Fri)

Prof. Adam Szeidl

Central European University

Interfirm Relationships and Business Performance
20 Oct (Fri)

Prof. Jaimie Lien

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Prediction and Learning about Credit Card Spending
1 Nov (Wed)

Prof. Heski Bar-Isaac

University of Toronto

Adverse Selection, Efficiency and the Structure of Information with Application to the Labour Market
3 Nov (Fri)

Prof. Yiyi Zhou

Stony Brook University

Middlemen as Information Intermediaries: Evidence from the Used Car Markets

6 Nov (Mon)
LSK6045      3:30-5:00pm

Prof. Ulrich Mueller

Princeton University

Inference for the Mean
8 Nov (Wed)

Prof. Jeffrey Ely

Northwestern University

Moving the Goalposts
15 Nov (Wed)

Prof. Shakeeb Khan

Boston College

Identification and Inference for Dynamic Discrete Choice Panel Data Models
17 Nov (Fri)

Prof. Ulf von Lilienfeld-Toal

University of Luxembourg

Identifying the Benefits from Home Ownership: A Swedish Experiment

22 Nov (Wed)

Prof. Peter Newberry

Pennsylvania State University

Economies of Density in E-Commerce: A Study of Amazon's Fulfillment Center Network

24 Nov (Fri)

Prof. Yangbo Song

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen

Finite Repeated Games with Learning of Actions
1 Dec (Fri)

Prof. Zhipeng Liao

University of California, Los Angeles

A Uniform Model Selection Test for Semi/Nonparametric Models
4 Dec (Mon)
LSK6045      3:30-5:00pm

Prof. Felix Tintelnot

University of Chicago

Trade and Domestic Production Networks
13 Dec (Wed)

Prof. Shuyang Sheng

University of California, Los Angeles

Estimation of Large Network Formation Games

  

Last modified: 3 November 2017

 

 

 


 

 

Summer 2017

 

Date Speaker Paper Title
4 Aug (Fri) Prof. Arthur Schram
University of Amsterdam
Media Bias and Elections: Theory and Experiment

 

  

 

Spring 2017

   

Date Speaker Paper Title
22 Feb (Wed) Prof. Yang Lu
HKUST
Information Manipulation and Social Coordination
23 Feb (Thu)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. Renaud Coulomb
University of Melbourne
Rare Events and Risk Perceptions: 
Evidence from the Fukushima Accident
1 Mar (Wed) Prof. Michael Carter
UC Davis
Designing Insurance Contracts when Clients "Greatly Value" Certainty:
Results from Field Experiments in Burkina Faso
2 Mar (Thu)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. Xiaoxia Shi
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Estimating Semi-parametric Panel Multinomial Choice Models using Cyclic Monotonicity
8 Mar (Wed) Prof. Pak Hung Au
Nanyang Technological University
Reputation Turnaround, Negotiated Block Trade and
Endogenous Cost of Corporate Control
10 Mar (Fri)
3:00 - 4:30 pm
LSK5047
Prof. Marc Sangnier
Aix-Marseille University (France)
What motivates French pork:
Political career concerns or private connections?
17 Mar (Fri) Prof. Zhiqi Chen
Carleton University
Colluding on Surcharges
20 Mar (Mon)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. Kalina Manova
Oxford University
Managing Trade: Evidence from China and the US
22 Mar (Wed) Prof. Wei He
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Dynamic Games with Almost Perfect Information
29 Mar (Wed) Prof. Matthew Shi
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Catching (Exclusive) Eyeballs:

Multi-Homing and Platform Competition in the Magazine Industry

31 Mar (Fri) Prof. Wing Suen
Hong Kong University
Learning while Experimenting
19 Apr (Wed) Prof. Zhi Wang
George Mason University
Characterizing Global Value Chains
21 Apr (Fri) Prof. Shyamal Chowdhury
The University of Sydney
Effects of Emigration on Rural Labour Markets
26 Apr (Wed) Prof. Matthieu Crozet
Paris School of Economics/
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Trade Finance Dependence and the Trade Impact of Bank Crises
27 Apr (Thu)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. Ming He
University of Technology Sydney
Identification and Estimation of Pure Common Value Auction Models
with an Application to the U.S. OCS Wildcat Auctions
28 Apr (Fri) Prof. Qiang Fu
National University of Singapore
The Paradox of Mediocracy
2 May (Tue)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. Patrick Francois
University of British Columbia
Reservations and the Politics of Fear
4 May (Thu)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Dr. Yi Wen
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Optimal Monetary Policy at the Zero Lower Bound
5 May (Fri) Prof. Alistaire Wilson
University of Pittsburgh
Diagnosing Coordination Failures in Information Relationships
Joint Seminar: IEMS & SOSC
11 May (Thu)
4:00 - 5:30 pm AB3301
(L#17-18)
Prof. Xiaobo Zhang
Peking University
Moving "Umbrella":
Identify Firm Political Connections through Bureaucratic Transfers in China
12 May (Fri)
9:30 - 11:00 am  LSK1003
Prof. Luis Cabral
New York University
Mixed Bundling in Retail DVD Sales: Facts and Theories
17 May (Wed) Prof. Sergio Montero
University of Rochester
Going It Alone? An Empirical Study of Coalition Formation in Elections
18 May (Thu)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. Naoki Aizawa
University of Minnesota
Local Market Equilibrium and Designs of the Public Health Insurance System
24 May (Wed) Prof. Wooyoung Lim
HKUST
Herd Immunity and a Vaccination Game
26 May (Fri) Prof. Kei-Mu Yi
University of Houston
Multinational Production, International Trade, and Structural Change
29 May (Mon)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. Fernando Parro
Johns Hopkins University
Trade and Migration: A Quantitative Assessment
14 Jun (Wed) Prof. Ilwoo Hwang
University of Miami
Uncertainty-driven Cooperation
29 June (Thu)
3:30 - 5:00 pm
LSK6045
Prof. James Tybout
Pennsylvania State University
Two-sided Search in International Markets

 

Last modified: 11 July 2017